Sunday, June 10, 2012

What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger (A Book Review)

People, especially teenagers, often submit themselves to certain tough situations that presumably made them feel like the world has just crashed upon them. It can be an academic problem, family feud, frenemy dilemma, or the worst of all – heartache.

Marla Miniano amazingly took an innovative approach to this book called Every Girl’s Guide to Heartache. It follows the story of a teenage girl named Anna, who wretchedly deals with her broken heart… and mainly everything that goes with it. After breaking up with Jaime, Anna finds herself in deep chaos. She feels like an extremely shattered crap that didn’t even get a valid reason for being dumped, thus, ended up getting the overrated “It’s not you, it’s me” break-up line. However, after realizing that her relationship with Jaime is totally over, she starts turning to the people who, assuredly, won’t make her feel what The Ex made her feel – her family and friends. Anna has a happy-go-lucky family and a good set of bff’s – Rickie, Chrissy, and her best guy friend, Miguel, who is indeed an angel sent from above when things got worse. Miguel is the usual dream-guy-who-happens-to-be-the-bestfriend kind of guy. But, Anna is quite sure to herself that she would never ever think of him in that way… or at least that’s what she thought until things started to twist and turn. She’s now caught up in profound confusion.

How close is too far? Join Anna as she heals her broken-heart, revamps her life, and fall in love once again. Every Girl’s Guide to Heartache is a light yet entertaining read that is truly a keeper. Follow every rule and surely, you’ll be perfectly fine.

Let go of the things that make you sad. Make a room for happiness. Love life and show the world your stronger version.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I would love to hear your thoughts about this post! :)